Skip to main content



Lewis and Clark National Forest


  • National Forest
Located in central and north central Montana, the Lewis and Clark National Forest is one of ten forests in the Northern Region. The Forest spreads across thirteen counties, seven mountain ranges, and administers an interpretive center in Great Falls. The Forest is characterized by coniferous forests, woody valley bottoms, high mountain peaks and broad grassy meadows. The Bob Marshall and Scapegoat Wildernesses cover almost half of our forest land. The Lewis and Clark National Forest provides opportunities for public recreation ranging from scenic drives, hiking, OHV riding and horseback riding to camping, snowshoeing, skiing and snowmobiling. The public can cut Christmas trees, gather firewood, hunt for big game, fish our streams, and find many other activities in this diverse area of public land. Please take time to navigate through our website:, get familiar with us then pack up and explore your forest!
Read More
Read More
Street Address
1101 15th Street North
Great Falls, MT 59403 Get directions
Mailing Address
PO Box 869
Great Falls, MT 59403